Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Finally closing the distance after 5 years! UK/USA couple - surprise for SO advice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Finally closing the distance after 5 years! UK/USA couple - surprise for SO advice?

Hey everyone,

It's been awhile since I've visited the LFAD forums, but I'm so happy with this news that it was hard for me to contain myself.

Short story: I'm from the Midwest USA, he's from the UK. We met back when Skype had this magical mode called "SkypeMe" mode and we were both in university. After I graduated, I pranced off to Japan to work and live there for three years (2007-2010) while he finished up school and I'd visit him during my holidays. Went back home last summer and since then I've been back in the states for one year, and we applied for the K1 visa last October. He was approved just last Wednesday! (YAY!) It didn't actually take a year for the whole process, he's just currently on contract with work until the end of September. He'll be here in mid-October.

SO EXCITED CAN'T WAIT KJFKJEWLRSD ohmygosh. It'll have been nearly a year since we've seen each other face to face.. our tentative wedding date is 11/11/11! (I'll have to explain my reasoning on that date too, later. XD)

I just thought I'd ask for people for advice or ideas on what to do to surprise him when he arrives at the airport?

This is really a big deal for both of us: the start of our lives finally being physically present together and a closure of the most agonizing and terrible distance yet, so to make this moment special for both of us would mean the absolute world.

Here's what I thought of so far:
    - greeting him with a big sign that says "Welcome home!" or "Welcome to the USA!"