From OkCupid to No Expectations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

From OkCupid to No Expectations

it's 1:08 am here in Colombia - and i just signed up to this forum... oh boy, what a relief! so i'm not the only crazy gal to hop on a plane to go stay with a guy i had been talking for less than two months and whom I hadn't ever skyped with - all this on Christmas Eve.

im Colombian, he's from Texas. we met online last October in OkCupid. Ever since we started texting all I kept thinking was how lucky I was to find such an incredibly sexy, hot, intelligent guy...and of course how terribly hard it would be to fall for someone living so far away from me. ( not falling, but of course the natural consequences of a LDR-to be)

Fortunately, we both agreed we didn't want to wait too long to actually meet in person. And so, one day (first week of December) -after having just another goofy conversation on what it would be like to be together- he asked if i could come and spend Xmas holidays with him and his family. (Initially he was going to come down here, but he couldn't because of his job - and I got kinda disappointed). So I was thrilled at the possibility of seeing him for Xmas... and I honestly didn't think he was talking for real. But he was! He said he would fly me over.

By then, I had already seen a lot of pictures of him, his family, and we had gone official everywhere (family, coworkers, friends, Facebook, etc). It really felt like I knew who he was, and I'm sure it was just the same for him. I had even started texting with his mom! But we hadn't ever skyped!

so, yeah - it was crazy! The craziest thing I've ever done, even though I had nothing but good, solid reasons to trust him and embark on this adventure. I was so confident I should do it... But my mom (and almost every person I care about) got angry at me.