Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie in need of advice. :)

Hello everyone,

I'm new to LDR, and I really need some advice from all the veterans and other newcomers for the situation that I am in, please.

I am just about to start this relationship with this guy that I have liked for about a year now. We are both eighteen, and about to graduate high school next Saturday. He's going to Baylor for summer school and the rest of college, and is leaving the day after graduation. I'm leaving for Arizona with my family for two weeks. I'm coming back after those two weeks, but he will be gone until at least July from summer school. He's leaving again for Baylor in august, and I'm staying locally in Austin for community college. Where he is attending Baylor is only about an hour away, but I have never been in a long distance relationship before, and I really want this to work. what I am worried about is that during the school year when we won't see each other is where our relationship could possibly fall through. We both have had horrible relationship decisions in the past, and that has made us sort of guarded with our feelings, but undoubtly we feel strongly for each other and want a relationship together.

Is there some sort of special way to stay in contact with him besides texting and an occasional phone call? I feel like there is something more I can do, but not be too oncoming since we are just starting this relationship. Also, there is hope for a young romance like ours, right? Neither of is want a worthless two week high school one, we both want this to work, however I'm transferring to another school after one year of the community college to a university that is all the way in the panhandle of Texas. One more thing I'm concerned about (I told you I'm new to this), how can I trust that he will stay loyal to me and ensure that his feelings for me don't disappear?