Rough nights

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rough nights

Im still fairly new to a LDR but this is probably the second rough night since we began. At the moment it's because I don't know when I'll talk to her next since she doesn't know what to expect in school down south yet. Anyways, a very rough night but I'm just wondering how everyone deals with nights like these, would also another guys opinion on this as well

Would also like another guys opinion on this I meant**

Comment

It just sucks. For me, it's something different every time. Last night was one of those nights. I had to get up early, but I couldn't get to sleep, so I was just thinking and missing him. When we lived together and I couldn't sleep, he'd come tuck me in again (he tucked me in every night... still does, just over the phone). We'd cuddle for a minute, and I'd get another kiss. Usually it'd relax me enough to sleep. But now... I texted him, and he called again. I still felt restless and alone after that, but our kitten came and laid down with me and I turned the tv on and eventually got to sleep. Sometimes I get myself through with other things. Thinking about more immediate and concrete issues, like tomorrow's to do list.. Anything to keep my mind busy.

Honestly, you just have to find what works. And sometimes it is different depending on what the issue is. So if you can't help thinking about talking to her, do it! Talk to her. Write it, or say it out loud. Or maybe turn on a favorite movie. Or read a book. Do a hobby. Keeping busy is important. You can also find little comforts. For me, it's a stuffed animal my man gave me. Or one of his t-shirts.

Once she does settle in to school, you should find a schedule to talk that works for both of you. My SO and I talk on the phone before bed every night. Some people talk for longer a couple times a week or have scheduled skype dates once a week. Just figure out what works for you, and I bet that will help in the future.