Did you..?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Did you..?

Move in together as soon as you closed the distance?
    Would you?

Because, he's right. It would make so much more sense to move in together. He wants me to. Wants to wake up beside me and come home to me, he says. But I'm so afraid of the horror stories, you know? We dated for a second (ahem, 2 months) before he had to leave for medical residency. We've visited each other half-a-dozen times since (so six visits in eight months, so far). We're planning another couple of visits before the summer, which is the season we're thinking of closing this infernal distance.

I'm a nurse and he's a doctor, so we're both fairly set professionally. I don't plan on moving to him before acquiring a job there first. Neither of us are rich by any means since we're both fresh out of school (a year out of school, to be more accurate). We both have loans that we are paying off. I know this move will set me back thousands of dollars in addition to adjusting to a new job, new city, no family, no friends, etcetera. I have never done anything this drastically independent. I've done international moves, but always to and with family. I've moved out before but to live with an ex-boyfriend, and that ended horribly. I am not living with my parents now, but I am still living in my childhood home (my father left it to me after I graduated). My younger sisters still live with me, so there's always that sense of safety, of being home and with family.

I have a very hyper dog.