Mom's house...Mom's rules

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mom's house...Mom's rules

So I am a college student and so I still technically live with my mom and so I have to respect her rules. Well my mom is very old fashioned and doesn't allow me to stay at my boyfriends house. Throughout our whole relationship, when we see each other he has driven the 3 hours up and stayed at my house. There was a time where my SO's dad invited me to stay in their house and spend time with their family like my SO does with mine. Well my mom would not allow it....See the thing is, my SO is far more independent than I am at this point, as in he has more freedom because he's moved out of his parents house before and now he's 1000 miles away working while I am going to college and living at home when I'm not on campus. So needless to say, in way he is more of an adult than I am because I still have to abide by my mom's rules. My mom and I are very close and I am the youngest of 2 girls so it makes sense for her to be protective and I do not find myself to be "sheltered" at least not nearly as much as some people I know...I honestly do get away with a lot and allowed to do pretty much whatever I want, except when it comes to my boyfriend because with the culture my mom is from, that is just not permitted and I am respectful of that and so is he but he still feels like my mom is just treating me like a child and controls my every move. He loves my mom and she really likes him too but he disagrees with the fact that she still has quite a bit of control over my life, to a point I can't go visit him, especially not now, because it would involve me staying overnight in a hotel either with him or by myself...neither of which she is okay with. He feels like my mom doesn't trust him, which isn't the case...it's not him or me she doesn't trust, she trusts us both, she's just old fashioned with her parenting ways and I don't know how to make him understand that. Every time I've