Moving away from home?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving away from home?

So I just got off the phone with my SO...and I'm in need of some advice. This might be a little confusing (at least it is every time I try to explain it) so bare with me :P.

My SO and I met in person in the same city. We both were raised here and went to grade school here (different schools). After high school graduation, we both went to different colleges, and I graduated in May of this year. He is graduating next May (his program is a 5 year thing, mine was 4), and then we are marrying in June. Since graduating, I have moved back home to try to save some cash before we start our lives together.

I love the city I live in now (the city we are both from). I love living here, I love the people here. Everything I know is here. This is what I call home. He on the other hand, thinks this city is ok, but would prefer to move away for a number of reasons that I understand and accept. I'm not opposed to moving away, but just now on the phone, he brought up the question "are you moving away because of me?"

I told him that I supposed in a way, I am, because if I had never met him, or if he was 100% ok with staying here, I probably wouldn't have left. But because I know that as a couple, we have the potential to both be happier in a different city, then I wouldn't be opposed to leaving, because I want to work hard to make things work between us. Why would I want to live in a place where I know my husband wouldn't be totally happy?

On the flip side, I *think* he believes that I won't be happy if I lived anywhere else? I'm not really sure...because on the phone he suddenly shut down and got kinda sad with me and I didn't know what to do. He kinda stopped responding to my questions so communication started getting really fuzzy.

I'm not sure what I'm looking for, I guess any advice or suggestions on how I should handle this situation...