husband not ready to relocate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

husband not ready to relocate

Hello, new to this forum! Seeking advice. I am not yet in a long distance relationship but it may be in my future. My husband and I have been married for a year (been together for seven years). He's 27, I'm 25. We will not be having children and I am a writer so I can work and live anywhere; his career path is flexible since he works in the service industry. We are not being separated by careers or finances, but rather a desire to live in different places.

Currently I'm a graduate student in Minneapolis. Husband grew up near Los Angeles and moved with me. He loves Minneapolis--we've been living here for almost two years. The problem is, I am not a city person. I've lived in the city for the past seven+ years and I desperately want to move back to my rural hometown in the mountain West when my graduate program is over. Although I enjoy many aspects of Minneapolis culture I am constantly homesick and feel really unhappy when I am trapped inside for weeks at a time by the climate. I can't do many of my favorite actives, like hiking and backpacking, which are more of a lifestyle to me than a hobby. If it were up to me, I would live in my hometown in the mountains forever--I already own a house there that I currently rent out and would like to eventually move into.

Husband says he can imagine himself being happy in my rural hometown eventually, but doesn't know when he'll be ready to leave the city. He wants to exhaust all of his options in an urban setting (enjoying a variety of restaurants, playing in a band, etc.) before he feels comfortable moving to the country. I am in support of this, but don't know if I can stay in the city for many more years.

In summary, the situation is:
    -I don't want him to leave the city before he's ready and resent me
    -I don't want to stay in the city longer than makes me happy and resent him