Advice? Little hope of closing the distance any time soon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice? Little hope of closing the distance any time soon

Hi everyone - long time lurker, first time poster. I've always appreciated the compassion that is shown around here and I'm hoping I can get some advice. I'm gonna try to make this as short as possible.

Me: college senior, getting ready to graduate, stressing about what I'm going to do afterwards. My major is internationally-minded but I do want to move back to my hometown (thousands of miles away from my school) eventually - not sure when or how. I want to see the world first and live on my own.

Him: college dropout, lives at home with his parents (who he finds insufferable), has a few friends he also finds insufferable, but after a couple years of job hopping has a job he likes and thinks he can make into a career (service technician).

Us: together since I began college, from the same hometown, which has a very very high cost of living and a stagnant tourism-driven job market. We both want to settle down there.

The problem: I don't want to move home yet. He originally said he would move to be with me, but has backed off since he got this job (part of the reason being that he "doesn't think he can do better" and has to "take what he can get" with his "limited" skills). I've applied to overseas programs but he's admitted he would be relieved if I didn't get in and just came home. My boyfriend also has this hangup about wanting to own his own home, and justifies not getting his own place and renting because of this - which is fine. But again, his parents make him miserable. Suicidal thinking is not foreign to him, and this gets worse when his parents treat him especially badly. He's not saving any money, and I'm broke too