Brexit and a LDR..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brexit and a LDR..

So I'm still pretty new to the whole Brexit stuff. I don't fully understand it, alongside politics overall and as bad as it may sound, I never thought Brexit would really affect me as much up until now.

I'm in a fairly new relationship with someone from The Netherlands, we've met once already and everything is going great. Of course, due to the fact it's still new, neither of us are ready to close the distance anytime soon but we've already talked about our future together somewhat and of course Brexit is a concern for us. Neither of us really understand it but he assures me that it probably won't be much different other than stricter boarder control, but I'm still unsure on this. Here's our situation and issues..

He's currently studying and I think he will be for the next year or two, maybe longer. Although his next term means he can study in another country, I don't know if he'll be ready to move over to the UK in order to study and my living situation doesn't permit for him to move in with me. I'm unemployed and searching for work and experience here in the UK but I have troubles due to previous mental health issues that I am still working on today. Our most viable solution would be for me to move to him, which I'm not against at all, but I'm totally clueless how it would work for me when I know no Dutch (beginning to learn, though) and have no job and very little experience and it likely won't be possible for another few years.

All of the above are my concerns and I have no idea how this LDR can work with Brexit on the way as I don't understand Brexit itself. Could someone please explain the basics to me and tell me how things could work out? Thank you!

There are many, many articles that come up when you do a quick google search, this one from the BBC for example: https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-32810887