Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I need Advice, please

Hi.

I have been doing long distance for 7 months now. And it didn't feel this unbearable until three weeks ago.

About two weeks ago my SO came to visit and the visit did not go well the majority of the time (it doesn't help that this trip was the first time my SO was around my family for a long period of time). All other visits have gone much better. This was the first real tough one. Even though the last day of the visit ended on a high note it has left me feeling horrible.

I feel like everything is off and out of sync. I feel like my SO is not as affectionate with their words like they used to be. I have brought it up and my SO has reassured me that they are all in for this relationship. But I still don't feel that support or reassurance. I am worried things aren't the same for him.

We have talked about future plans and ending the distance but what is hard is that these conversations only happen in person. And the span of time in between visits are just phone calls filled with recaps of our days rather than more heavier subjects.

I keep going to sleep every night crying. I feel like I am losing hope in the long distance relationship and it makes me scared. I am scared we won't get through it.

I don't even know if how I really feel is legitimate or if I am letting my mind run away with all the negative things that come to mind.

Any advice, tips, or insights? Just anything??
    Last edited by Holly09; April 9, 2018, 02:42 AM.

Talk to them. Don't be afraid to broach the heavier subjects on Skype.
    Tell them what you are afraid of. Ask him if he is feeling supported and reassured and if not, ask what you can do to help him feel that way. Ask the same of him.