Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Visa Waiver to the US

Hi everyone,

My fiancé lives in the Chicago and we try and see each other every 3-4 months (I normally fly over from NZ as I am doing my degree atm which makes it easier to see each other)

We are planning to marry when i'm over there this coming June/July then I am flying back for my second semester of Uni.

Just wondering will this be possible to do on a visa waiver?

We are hoping that as soon as I finish my degree end of next year I will be able to join him permanently

**I was in Chicago for 3 months already on the visa waiver form from december to feb (my summer holidays = my first white christmas )

I come to the states on the VWP too. When I came for my second three month visit I had extra security questions and I took the oppurtunity to ask them about the rules of the VWP in detail.

*You have to leave the country compleltley for a minimum of 2 weeks between each visit. As far as I'm aware canada and mexico dont count unless that is your country of residence.

*You cannot spend more time in American than out of it. For example no more than 6 months in a 12 month period, otherwise you are deemed to be "living" in America.

I asked them same question about getting married on the VWP. As far as I am aware, and based on others advice it is ok, you just need to be aware that they're likely to be very suspicious at customs.....apparently the only reason you would want to get married in America is to live there *eyeroll*

But as with all visits, just make sure you have your return tickets already booked, and proof of returning to NZ (school records, lease, job contract etc etc). At the end of the day it shouldnt be viewed any differently than a destination wedding. (I say "shouldnt")