Struggling with LDR in College

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Struggling with LDR in College

Hey guys! I'm new to LFAD and I was hoping that I could get some advice from some of you about what it is that I'm feeling and what my next steps ought to be.

I have been dating my boyfriend since our freshman year in high school. He was my best guy friend before that, and all throughout high school, we had a wonderful relationship. We definitely had our ups and downs, but on the whole, we loved each other and were very happy together.

We've now been in college for about five months. He goes to college in Utah and I go to college in our home state, California. The distance has taken a HUGE emotional toll on our relationship, especially me. I'm a person who really relies on quality time and frequent quality communication in order to maintain a relationship. However, because of how busy we both are, we don't have a lot of time to make this happen.

What frustrates me the most is that I feel like I'm always the one who's initiating conversations or making plans to Skype/phone call/text/etc. It makes me feel like he's completely content to just have me as a girlfriend but not put in any real effort into making this work. I have talked to him about this multiple times, and he'll try to appease me by texting me first more often and whatnot. But this only lasts for a period of time before things return to normal and I'm left feeling like he doesn't truly care.

We've discussed breaking up multiple times in the past few months, but each time I bring it up (by the way, I'm the only one who ever mentions this as a possibility), he declares his undying love for me and says things like "I know you're the one for me," "I love you," "I want us to be together forever," etc. The problem is, I'm beginning to feel like these are empty words because the actions don't always back it up.