How do I know when to let go?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do I know when to let go?

I've been dating my boyfriend for 2 and a half years. About a year of that has been long distance, but we are only two hours apart. He is a senior in high school and I'm a sophomore in college. Our first year of long distance was stressful as expected, but we managed to survive, remain in love with one another, and come out stronger for it at the end of the year. We spent our summer together and I came back to school expecting things to go about the same as they did last year - happy, but stressful and lonely at times.

This year has been such a struggle though. Our first month back to LD was fine, but about a month ago, my bf revealed to me that he's depressed. He says he hasn't been eating or sleeping much and he is so lonely. He says he is hiding things from me (nothing too awful...he just knows I'll worry about him). He has been emotionally distant, defensive and even a bit verbally combative. It's hard for me to be happy when he is like this and it's been such a struggle recently for me to be patient and understanding when it seems like he says and does things to purposefully hurt me.

Last night, he said some very upsetting things to me, basically along the lines of he isn't sure about anything anymore including our relationship and that he finds our relationship when I am home so predicatble and boring. I was hurt and with urging from my roommates who don't really understand the situation, broke up with him. He was upset and this morning when I woke up, I instantly regretted it. I called him and asked if we could talk later and he said yes.