He's leaving tomorrow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

He's leaving tomorrow

My boyfriend is leaving for Australia for anything between 8 months to a year. I'm devastated but trying not to smother him or annoy him, we said goodbye yesterday so now I won't see him at all for all that time. I don't know how often we'll get to talk, I have barely any info about it. I already struggle with depression and I'm worried about it getting worse after this. I know he's upset too but he doesn't like to show it, he doesn't want us to be in a relationship while he's away because of the pressure. I really need support, I miss him so much already but he's too busy to talk. I've made it sound like he doesn't care but he does, I think he's distancing himself from me because it hurts him plus he is looking forward to going (he's gonna be working on a farm out there and training to be a vet). Anyway any advice on how I can cope will help so much as I'm new to this :/ thanks

I'm not sure I understand. Are you guys together? You said he doesn't want to be in a relationship while he's away, does that mean you're together or not?

If not, then I don't think staying in touch will help you. Speaking from experience, going away and leaving someone, and not being in a relationship but staying in touch, is bad for both involved. Because the person who leaves wants to enjoy themselves as much as possible, but they stay in touch because they miss home. And it leads on the person who's left behind. If he's leaving and you're not going to be together for the duration of his abscence, don't stay in touch. And don't assume he will come back and you can get back together. Because after a year apart, not being in a relationship... Either you or him might not want to get back together, and if one or other of you decides that, it leaves the person who assumed you were getting back together right back at the beginning of the break up.