He's Perfect for Me... But I Can't Have Him

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

He's Perfect for Me... But I Can't Have Him

I hope you guys are ready for a long story! I'm a writer, so I apologize for the verbosity. If you read it, I really appreciate it.

I planned a trip to Italy this winter partly to visit a former roommate, who is studying for her masters in Rome. As I was fine-tuning my Italian plans, she suggested I Couchsurf in the other cities. She said that many of her friends used the site and it's a great way to meet nice, local people who will show you their cities. She actually met her current boyfriend that way, because she traveled Italy for a month last year. I connected with one Couchsurfer host in Milan who was very friendly. Since this was his first time hosting, we Skyped, and both felt an instant click. I knew he was attractive, but I also knew that I get along with so many people. All I knew was that I felt good about staying with him. He began checking in with me often on Facebook and our connection grew over those next two weeks. When I had the opportunity to cancel my Milan flight and go straight to Rome, I resisted. Something in my gut told me I had to meet this guy in Milan, so I went.