Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I get my boyfriend's head OUT of the future?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do I get my boyfriend's head OUT of the future?

My boyfriend and I have been long distance for almost a year and a half, and we will be going to college together in the fall. We're excited and anxious to get the whole LDR thing over with, but my boyfriend simply cannot get his head out of the distant future. He's always thinking about what we would do if I studied abroad, or where we'd live after we graduate, or what would happen if he graduated before me... he worries about it constantly. In fact, he has said to me that he's worried about me being so serious about my career (I plan on being an actress and a writer) that I would leave him or him and our kids (he's eighteen, I'm seventeen and no, I'm not pregnant). He is a very sensitive, mature guy who had to take on a lot of responsibility as a kid after his father died, and I think that left him with a lot of issues with security and wanting to plan for everything. Whenever the issue of the distant future comes up, I usually try to tell him "We'll deal with it when we get there", or "We don't need to worry about it now", but we almost always end up arguing. No, fighting. That's a better word for it.

I seriously don't know what to do here. I don't want to be stuck planning for the rest of my life instead of living it. I don't even know if I'll be ABLE to study abroad, and yet he's the one who's constantly worrying about it. It makes me sad that he gets himself so upset, and I hate fighting with him. What do I do?

If he's been predispositioned to need/seek security and a plan, it's possible the stress of a LDR is further bringing out that quality, simply because planning is such a part of the dynamic of being long-distance.