Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Misconceptions that annoy me to no end about meeting someone online.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Misconceptions that annoy me to no end about meeting someone online.

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting a thread.
    I'd just like to express some common misconceptions that people have about meeting someone online.

First off, to give you some background, I met my SO on an online mmorpg game called "RuneScape". Most people can't wrap their head around the idea that I met and fell in love with someone I met on an online video game..

Perhaps that's because people are so misinformed about online relationships. When I say we met online, most people think that we met in a Yahoo chat room and his screen name was "bigdaddy4u" but it's not like that at all! Where did people get this idea that if you meet someone online, they're automatically 1) Not who they say they are. 2) Out to sexually abuse you. 3) Old, fat, ugly, and bald. 4) They'll cheat on you.

Although it is true that there are some people out there like that, most of the people that meet their SO's online are very smart about who they talk to and look for red flags and are very aware.

It annoys me so much how mislead people are. The truth of it is, as you can probably relate to, is that I talk to my long distance love probably more then you talk to your girlfriend/boyfriend who lives in the same town as you! So I know everything about him inside and out, because that's all we have to go off. Talking. I think that's why people just don't understand how close people in a long distance relationship can get, so fast. It's much different then having a relationship with someone you live by.

It's not the 1990's anymore, people hardly use chatrooms, we all use Skype, so I think it's time for people to stop assuming things that aren't true!
    I just thought you all could relate to this. Maybe you can, maybe you can't.