The "who's moving where" issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The "who's moving where" issue

Last night me and my SO had a conversation about our future together. He thinks that it would be a logical decision for me to move to Iowa (where he lives) rather than him move to Pennsylania (where I live). I of course don't agree because as much as my family pisses me off, i'm not ready to leave yet.

Im only in my second year of college, still have no car or drivers license in general. How can I expect his family to take care if me the way mine will? They definitely won't want to pay for my college or a car or much of anything really.

My bf is 23, the only thing he will have to worry about if he moves here is finding a job.

What have you guys decided to do and what compromises are you going to make in order to do it?
    "The Only Heaven I'll Be Sent To,
    Is when I'm Alone With You."

Met: Sometime in 2016
    Started Relationship: August 9, 2017
    First Visit: December 7, 2017
    Closed the distance: February 9, 2018

We looked at who had fewer ties where, and who was more willing. In the end, it came down to that my boyfriend has fewer ties. Due to a life-changing event in his life, this will change for the next few years at best and the next several at worst, so it's come down to that it might be better for me to go there and stay for a while than it would be for him to come here (all things depending). That being said, I have made it very clear, and he's well aware of the fact, that I would not be able to leave where I currently for more than several years and this is ultimately where I would like to end up, not only because of the area but because of the ties I have to my family. So really, we have had to go through and look at all our options and analyse what's possible and what isn't and what we're willing to do and what we aren't and then we looked to find overlap.